Connecticut False Claims Act Information

Connecticut False Claims Act allows private persons to file a qui tam action on behalf of the State government and recover 15-30% of the proceeds.

A person may bring a civil action in the superior court on behalf of the state against any person who violates the Connecticut False Claims Act. In a successful qui tam case, the whistleblower is entitled to between 15-30% of the proceeds recovered and collected in the action, plus reasonable expenses, attorney’s fees, and costs of the case.

Whistleblowers reporting fraud against the State of Connecticut are protected against retaliation under the statute, if the civil action is brought within three years after the date when the retaliation occurred.

The Connecticut False Claims Act –Chapter 55e, Sections 4-274 et. seq.– provides liability for any person who:

  • Knowingly presents, or cause to be presented, a false or fraudulent claim for payment or approval under a state-administered health or human services program;
  • Knowingly makes, uses or causes to be made or used, a false record or statement material to a false or fraudulent claim under a state-administered health or human services program;
  • Conspires to commit a violation of this section;
  • Has possession, custody or control of property or money used, or to be used, by the state relative to a state-administered health or human services program, knowingly deliver, or cause to be delivered, less property than the amount for which the person receives a certificate or receipt;
  • Being authorized to make or deliver a document certifying receipt of property used, or to be used, by the state relative to a state-administered health or human services program and intending to defraud the state, make or deliver such document without completely knowing that the information on the document is true;
  • Knowingly buys, or receives as a pledge of an obligation or debt, public property from an officer or employee of the state relative to a state-administered health or human services program, who lawfully may not sell or pledge the property;
  • Knowingly makes, uses or causes to be made or used, a false record or statement material to an obligation to pay or transmit money or property to the state under a state-administered health or human services program; or
  • Knowingly conceals or knowingly and improperly avoids or decreases an obligation to pay or transmit money or property to the state under a state-administered health or human services program.

Violators are liable to the state for a civil penalty of $5,500 – $11,000, plus three times the amount of damages that the state sustains because of the act of that person.

Click here for more state whistleblower laws.

Contact Us for a Free Consultation
(800) 682-7157 / (617) 823-3217