Iowa False Claims Act allows whistleblowers to collect between 15-30% of the proceeds in a successful qui tam action
A private person may bring a civil action for a violation of the Iowa False Claims Act on behalf of the state. In the event of a successful action, the whistleblower is entitled to 15% – 30% of the proceeds of the action or settlement of the claim, in addition to an amount for reasonable expenses, attorney fees, and costs of the case.
The Iowa FCA also protects whistleblowers against retaliation for engaging in protected activity, if a civil action is brought within three years of the date when the retaliation occurred.
The Iowa False Claims Act–Iowa Code Chapter 685–imposes liability on any person who:
a. Knowingly presents, or causes to be presented, a false or fraudulent claim for payment or approval
b. Knowingly makes, uses, or causes to be made or used, a false record or statement material to a false or fraudulent claim
c. Conspires to commit a violation of paragraph “a”, “b”, “d”, “e”, “f”, or “g”
d. Has possession, custody, or control of property or money used, or to be used, by the state and knowingly delivers, or causes to be delivered, less than all of that money or property
e. Is authorized to make or deliver a document certifying receipt of property used, or to be used, by the state and, intending to defraud the state, makes or delivers the receipt without completely knowing that the information on the receipt is true
f. Knowingly buys, or receives as a pledge of an obligation or debt, public property from an officer or employee of the state, or a member of the Iowa national guard, who lawfully may not sell or pledge property
g. Knowingly makes, uses, or causes to be made or used, a false record or statement material to an obligation to pay or transmit money or property to the state, or knowingly conceals or knowingly and improperly avoids or decreases an obligation to pay or transmit money or property to the state.
Violators are liable to the state for a civil penalty of not less than and not more than the civil penalty allowed under the federal False Claims Act (currently $5,500-$11,000) for each false or fraudulent claim, plus three times the amount of damages which the state sustains.